Review: Blackhead Exfoliating Wash [The Body Shop]

1

A few weeks ago, I picked up the Tea Tree Blackhead Exfoliating Face Wash at TBS. Hoping that it would help improve/remove the blackheads and clean my skin. The product is supposed to keep your skin clear and soft with a creamy facial scrub that is specially formulated to help unclog pores by gently exfoliating to remove trapped dirt, oil and dead skin cells. Aromatic lemon tea tree and Community Trade tea tree oil contain properties that help fight blemishes and prevent new ones from forming. Crushed apricot stones and silica mildly and effectively exfoliate skin.

I like using this product in the morning when I get in the shower. It has a fresh mint-y scent and leaves a nice tingly feel when I apply it onto my face; it helps me wake up!  It only takes a dime size per wash, so it lasts a while and is well-worth the price. I like the scrub but it doesn’t seem to get rid of any blackheads. However it feels great and I know tea tree is good for acne. I recommend gently massaging your face for about a minute, then leaving the product on your skin for a minute. (To let it sink into your skin before you wash it off!)

Product info
Brand – The Body Shop
Name – Tea Tree Blackhead Exfoliating Face Wash
Ingredients – Aqua (Solvent/Diluent), Glycerin (Humectant), Steareth-21 (Emulsifier), PPG-15 Stearyl Ether (Emollient/Skin Conditioner), Propanediol (Viscosity Modifier), Silica (Absorbent), Stearic Acid (Emulsifier), Polysorbate 60 (Surfactant), Palmitic Acid (Surfactant), Caprylyl Glycol (Skin Conditioning Agent), Prunus Armeniaca Seed Powder (Abrasive), Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf Oil (Natural Additive), Panthenol (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (Stabiliser/Viscosity Modifier), Calophyllum Inophyllum Seed Oil (Skin Conditioning Agent), Xanthan Gum (Viscosity Modifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Myristic Acid (Emulsifier), Salix Alba Bark Extract (Natural Additive), Lauric Acid (Surfactant – Cleansing Agent), Limonene (Natural Additive), Leptospermum Petersonii Oil (Natural Additive), Tocopherol (Antioxidant), Caramel (Colour), CI 19140 (Colour), CI 42090 (Colour). = 100 ml product.
Made in UK

2

3

Why I bought it
– It peaked my interest because of the color, smell, tea tree oil & supposedly exfoliating my blackheads

What I like most about it
– It smells nice & clean
– I think this will be perfect for summertime because of the cooling/tingly effect it gives my skin when I apply it

What I dislike about it
– Doesn’t really remove the blackheads (It can somewhat make them smaller)
– It can sting if it gets into my eyes

Whether or not I would buy the product again
– Not sure yet, I’ll stick with it for now but I’m on the hunt for a product to remove my blackheads. However, if I was looking for a product  that would give me smoother skin, then this product is perfect.

Product rating
4/5

One response to “Review: Blackhead Exfoliating Wash [The Body Shop]

Leave a Reply

